Pokemon Chat Report - Thursday, August 29, 2002
by Team Compendium


darkmaster_steve says, "Ahh! It's Pat!"
master_trainer_pat says, "Yowza"
master_trainer_pat says, "MT Mike is at Gen Con UK and the Dark Master is out today so this will probably be a pretty quick chat today"
master_trainer_pat says, "Since I can't answer alot of questions about Battle Zone, the new Challenge series or Pokemon Expedition yet."
master_trainer_pat shakes her/his head.
master_trainer_pat says, "I know, that's a bummer"
master_trainer_pat says, "Hopefully, MT Steve will stick around for abit, to get through some of these questions."
darkmaster_steve says, "yes I will be here, just got take them to their car right now!"
master_trainer_pat says, "We were just playing a few games(of Pokemon of course) with Jeff and Levi from the Pokemon League at the Sea Tac Wizards of the Coast store."
master_trainer_pat says, "Thanks for the games guys."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #89 from daytongl:How soon can the Professors expect to see the BattleZone "sales kits" so we can pitch the idea to other stores to run this program?
master_trainer_pat says, "I wish I had a better idea of the date that those were going out. I know MT MIke has been working hard on them and will get them out just as soon as he's able."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #90 from bigdaddysnorlax:If you try to retreat a Confused Pokémon and fail, then you heal the Pokémon, would it be able to retreat that turn?
master_trainer_pat says, "No, that Pokemon can't attempt another retreat that turn...but of course if you then evolved it..."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #91 from bigdaddysnorlax:What happens if you try to retreat a Confused Pokémon and fail, then you evolve the Pokémon. Would the evolved form be able to retreat that turn?
master_trainer_pat says, "Hmmm, deva vu??"
master_trainer_pat says, "You could then try to retreat it again."
master_trainer_pat smiles.

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #92 from bigdaddysnorlax:Attacks like Crosscutter and Counter have effects that trigger when your opponent attacks, but they are not considered actual attacks (i.e. won't trigger a Focus Band). Is a Baby flip required for those attack back effects if a Baby's attack triggers them?
master_trainer_pat says, "Nope, they aren't actual attacks so they don't trigger the baby rule flip."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #93 from chrisbo:Just a quickie for clarity's sake. With Neo: Destiny Mantine's "Giant Wave" attack, does benching the Mantine get rid of the "can't attack during your next turn" clause?
master_trainer_pat says, "Yes."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #95 from bigdaddysnorlax:Since you can't answer questions about Expedition, why don't you just tell us everything you know about it?
master_trainer_pat says, "It's due to be released Sept 16th...It's got some tweaked versions of older cards, such as an Energy Removal that requires a flip to use"
master_trainer_pat says, "There are new versions of many popular Pokemon from the past, such as Feraligatr, Venusaur, Alakazam and Blastiose"
master_trainer_pat says, "There are new 'trainer-type cards called Supporters(I think)"
master_trainer_pat says, "I think there are about 75 to 100 cards in it."
master_trainer_pat says, "Really that is all I know."
master_trainer_pat says, "Oh wait, the cards also have bar codes that will work with this little electronic reader that Nintendo is making."
darkmaster_steve says, "I think MTP is writing a book for all of you."
master_trainer_pat says, "I saw MT MIke playing with one the other day. One function was a little electronic coin flipper, one was a little video game(when you swiped certain cards in succession) and one was a little cartoon."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #94 from daytongl:Promo Mew (Lily Pad) v Dark Gengar - If Dark Gengar uses Pull In against an active Promo Mew, does the attack resolve bringing up a benched Poke, putting it to sleep, and doing damage to it?
darkmaster_steve says, "Yes it would work since the effect is not actually against mew."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #96 from bullet_anti_ptco:Is Season 8 Promo Energy Recycle Energy?
master_trainer_pat says, "YEs, it is."
master_trainer_pat nods solemnly.

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #97 from sd_pokemom:once battlezone is being shipped, does that mean we won't be able to get League kits anymore? we are behind in our kits, so this would mean we'd miss out on some seasons completely....:-(
master_trainer_pat says, "I'm really not sure on that one SD_Pokemom"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #98 from articjedi:I was reading the neo modified floor rules and they mentioned something about type a and type b for translations. Not to speculate, but does this mean that events here would be using Japanese translations?
master_trainer_pat says, "I don't know what that means. Maybe different ways of running tournaments that require translations or don't?/?"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #99 from lord_schweizer:what is battlezone?
darkmaster_steve says, "It is very much like the league, a little smaller, and more self contained,"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #100 from lord_schweizer:how long has battlezone been out? / when is battlezone coming out?
master_trainer_pat says, "It's not out yet, I think the first kits should go out after Season 8 for this year ends."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #101 from bullet_anti_ptco:I know you dont much about Battle Zone, but do you know when it starts?
master_trainer_pat says, "Nope, My guess is it will really get going at the beginning of next year(or late this one)"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #102 from steel_claw:If a Normal basic Pokémon damaged my Erika's Dratini, and I have an Unknown N on my bench, would N reduce the damage before or after Dratini's power, or is it my choice? Also, if I had no UnknownN but rather had a Metal on Dratini, which would prevent first? Same with Sprout Tower?
master_trainer_pat says, "Check page 21 of the rulebook. In the case, of two Pokemon Powers going off at the same time the player who controls them decides the order(if they control both)"
darkmaster_steve says, "you create a tempraral disturbance in the space time continuem, Causing all time to cease and the world to never be."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #103 from michel1be:Just to say that TMB was great and a lot of fun. Sorry if Europe took 1st and 3d place in the 12 and under, and 3, 4 and 5 in the 15+ envets ;-)
master_trainer_pat says, "No apologies necessary. Good to hear that you had a fun time."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #104 from pigdeon_of_death:If Ditto (copying Kog'as Ditto) uses Giant Growth, and then Koga's Ditto retreats for a Scyther, and then that retreats for a second Kog's Ditto, does Ditto (copying Koga's Ditto again) have 80 HP?
master_trainer_pat says, "You're really funny..."
master_trainer_pat says, "no really..."
master_trainer_pat says, "very funny..."
master_trainer_pat says, "not"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #105 from steel_claw:If there is a Fossil Aerodactyl in play, can I still get the pokemon with Fossil Egg? Can EEvee also use Energy Evolution?
darkmaster_steve says, "Something from the egg has to evolve from a fossil, it does not have to actually "evolve" so the power would not prevent the egg."
darkmaster_steve says, "Eevee is also not stopped."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #106 from soslowpoke:Watching the VMA's tonite? ;)
master_trainer_pat says, "No."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #107 from lord_schweizer:with any card that says "you can't use this attack during your next turn" does benching allow you to use that attack the next turn?
darkmaster_steve says, "Yes."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #109 from soslowpoke:That foil Recycle Energy sure is pretty, isnt it?
darkmaster_steve says, "Yes it is."
darkmaster_steve says, ""
darkmaster_steve nods solemnly.

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #108 from bullet_anti_ptco:But some locations like card shops and such will have them on shelves about a week before wont they?
master_trainer_pat says, "I don't know about shops having it out early, that is just the release date that we have."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #112 from bullet_anti_ptco:Will Expedition have a foil in every pack?
darkmaster_steve says, "I don't know yet,"
master_trainer_pat says, "We really can't answer any questions that you might have for James Lee about the Professor Program. If you have some please ask them through the appropraite Professor channels"
master_trainer_pat says, "We have heard that there will be a foil in every pack of Expedition, but we can't confirm yet because we have not opened any packs ourselves."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #115 from chrisbo:Has there been any talk about whether the "Chansey coin flipper" game from Card-E will be legal for tournament play like the Electro-Flip?
darkmaster_steve says, "There has been discussion, but there hasn't been a definate answer just yet."
master_trainer_pat says, "I really hope not, only because it takes soooo long to actually flip and it would create an unwelcome disturbance at tournaments."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #117 from steel_claw:I know the Japanese foil E-cards don't have bar codes, will the English ones have it?
master_trainer_pat says, "No."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #119 from bullet_anti_ptco:Any Idea about Promo #50 after the Snorlax promo?
master_trainer_pat says, "Nothing yet"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #120 from jermy101:Why were promos 1-20 banned and when is that rule starting?
darkmaster_steve says, "The same reason that we make the modified type tournaments, to keep the game moving foward and keep it changing."
master_trainer_pat says, "Just because they are harder to come by these days for all players. They will not be allowed starting on Sept. 1st"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #122 from bullet_anti_ptco:Well will Pokemon League loactions get the battle Zone kits after Season 8? how long after Season 8?
master_trainer_pat says, "We don't know."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #123 from matthewssandslash:Re 94... would that mean that an active non-foil Legendary Dog that gets Gusted goes to the bench, because it itself is not directly involved?
master_trainer_pat says, "Dark Gengars attack effects are not against Mew. Your question about Double Gust is not related to question 94."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #124 from soslowpoke:Can Scyther use Swords Dance and then Evolve to Scizor and be able to do 60 with Slash?
darkmaster_steve says, "No, once he evolves the effect of swords dance is gone."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #125 from steel_claw:RE#102 What if my opponent controlled the Sprout Tower?
darkmaster_steve says, "You would do your opponents effects first, then yours."
darkmaster_steve says, "scratch that."
master_trainer_pat says, "Check the rulebook again...step f(Sprout Tower) comes before step h(Pokemon Powers)"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #126 from soslowpoke:If PokemonCenter.com is promising to ship out expedition on the 1st, when will the winners of the theme deckchallenges at worlds get theirs?
darkmaster_steve says, "has soon has we get it in, (We do not know for certain.)"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #127 from pigdeon_of_death:Technically, would you be able to use the new Promo Snorlax in a tournament right now???
darkmaster_steve says, "yes, if you have it,"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #130 from bullet_anti_ptco:Is it true the next 2 Card E Sets will combine and will be called Aquapolis?
darkmaster_steve says, "No idea."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #131 from pigdeon_of_death:Re 120 What??? I haven't heard of this... will this be just for Modified????
darkmaster_steve says, "Just for modified."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #132 from jermy101:Would Clefable's metronome copy brock's ninetales or the attached card?
darkmaster_steve says, "it Would copy the attached pokemon, because the power says treat it has that pokemon."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #128 from steel_claw:Is there going to be more sanctioned tournaments in a wider area that include Professors?
master_trainer_pat says, "Hopefully."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #133 from lance313:Our store has been getting no response to messages or emails left for Merchant Relations as far as getting league season kits. Any higher person our store can communicate with?
master_trainer_pat says, "They should try contacting us here, maybe they are calling the old number"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #134 from steel_claw:Would Sabrina's ESP also work for Baby Rule flips?
darkmaster_steve says, "No, the flip is in order to attack, it has nothing to do with the actual attack."
master_trainer_pat says, "Any other questions before we split?"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #135 from bullet_anti_ptco:Do you know if any promos never released in America will be released within the next 2 months besides the Celebi Promo?
master_trainer_pat says, "No...and I have not heard of a Celebi promo...is someone else doing one?"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #136 from steel_claw:Say a Dark Weezing used Mass Explosion, and I had a Brock's Ninetails with 2 Dark Weezing's attached to it, would Mass Explosion do 20 more damage for both those weezings? How much damage would the Shapeshifted Ninetails get?
master_trainer_pat says, "Nope, you just get the one. You'll have to figure the math yourself"

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #138 from bullet_anti_ptco:yeah the Pokemon 4Ever movie is releasing the celebi promo
master_trainer_pat says, "Oh...cool, i guess"

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #140 from steel_claw:For Unknown C, is Weak./Resist. applied or not?
darkmaster_steve says, "It is not, it was a misprint."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #142 from soslowpoke:after seeing pictures on Zeo, do you guy's cubicles ever get stuffy?
darkmaster_steve says, "They start out stuffy."
master_trainer_pat says, "Yup."

darkmaster_steve presents the speaker with question #143 from jermy101:If Sabrina's Alakazam is active and Rocket's Mewtwo benched, can you attach Sabrina's ESP to Alakazam and flip 2 coins for Juxtapose?
darkmaster_steve says, "You get a reflip if you want, not flip 2."

master_trainer_pat presents the speaker with question #144 from steel_claw:In Team Battle, would I be able to use Cleffa's Eeeeeeeeek attack to give my teammate a new hand?
master_trainer_pat says, "Yes."
master_trainer_pat says, "Alright, that's it for today. Seems alot of folks just want to send insults in the chat que these days."
darkmaster_steve says, "See you all later!"
master_trainer_pat says, "See you all next week"