Pokemon Chat Report - Thursday, May 22, 2003
by Team Compendium


master_trainer_mike says, "Hi gang, my apologies for being late."
master_trainer_mike says, "I just spent all day teaching Wizrda's employtees how to play RISK 2210 for internal Game Day."
master_trainer_mike says, "I am a bit discombobulated."
master_trainer_mike says, "I had asked for the chat to be canceled but apparently"
master_trainer_mike says, "no one showed up to work today but me :)"
master_trainer_mike says, "So, allow me to bring up your questions and get started."
master_trainer_mike says, "Oh yes, thank you to Chrisbo for letting me know about this."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1620 from professorcfk:when are you going to update the battlezone location thing past the month of april?
master_trainer_mike says, "It should get done soon"
master_trainer_mike says, "the updated list was just generated 2 days ago."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1621 from lizardotc:Can a Pokémon devolved with Undersea Ruins be re-evolved on the same turn?
master_trainer_mike says, "Geez, I am still thinking about RISK stuff......"
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the answer now is you cannot."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1622 from chrisbo:If I have a benched Pokemon with Star Piece, and my opponent damages it during their turn so that it activates, since I'm evolving to Stage 1 *between turns* can I then immediately evolve it to Stage 2 during my turn?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you can. You check the state of a Pokemon at the start of your turn for evolution puposes."
master_trainer_mike says, "Meaning if it was evolved on the other player's turn or even in between turns, that does not count for the evolving once per YOUR turn."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1623 from chrisbo:For Skyridge Magcargo's "Eruption" attack, do I get to add 20 more damage if the oppponent discards a fire energy too?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you do."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1624 from chrisbo:For Skyridge Magcargo's "Crushing Lava" attack, if I discard a Rainbow Energy do I get to Burn the opponent *and* do +20 damage? No, because you can only discard "Basic" Fire or Fighting energies.
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct, only basic."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1625 from chrisbo:For Crystal Celebi's "Empathic Healing" attack, if Celebi is currently colorless does it heal all your colorless Pokemon (i.e. Tauros, Meowth, etc.)?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes it does."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1626 from lizardotc:One can not reevolve a Pokémon on the same turn it is devolved using Retro energy, correct?
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1627 from farbsman:If a Pokemon has 30damage and has 50HP, it is poisened and burned but has a goldberry on it, will the goldberry keep it from being knocked out in between turns? If so, how does it?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you could save it with the Gold Berry."
master_trainer_mike says, "If you read the rule book (page 20) In What Order Do Things Happen After Each Player's Turn?"
master_trainer_mike says, "It lists the order these effects are done (poison first, then burn, etc.)"
master_trainer_mike says, "It also states that an attached Pokemon Tool can be used at any time between turns."
master_trainer_mike says, "So you would let the poison damage go on, now the Pokemon has 40 damage. Use the Gold Berry, then check for Burned."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1628 from lizardotc:If a Pokémon attacks an Aquapolis Scizor using Grass Cube or Mystery Sphere Gamma, does the sleep effect permit the Scizor to be simultaneously poisoned?
master_trainer_mike says, "Poke-POWERs are shut off by Special effects, Poke-BODYs like Scizor's Poison Resistance are not."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1629 from professorcfk:when do you think professors(that were not deligates) will be able to get professor shirts and if so, where?
master_trainer_mike says, "I have sent quite a few overseas for the UK and Belgium events coming up."
master_trainer_mike says, "I will bring plenty to the Professor Championship and some to the other events."
master_trainer_mike says, "That may be all I have left."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1630 from marril2000:So much energy to soart @_@ Thank you mike, for giving TOs/Professors the chance to order energy... it was a lot more than I expected :)
master_trainer_mike says, "Not a problem, it won't do us any good and I am glad you guys can use it for your players."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1631 from nopoke59:from porygone3 If I harvest bounty two Retro Engerys... I can remove 4 dammage counters and devolve twice...
master_trainer_mike says, "Porygon3??"

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1632 from pokesensei:Hey Mike,any update on what the last month of BZ will be?
master_trainer_mike says, "Nothing to announce yet, sorry."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1633 from lizardotc:Can a Mysterous Fossle be given a TM and attack with it as long as it meets the other requirements involved (Ie, give it TM1 or a Mysterous Plate) Also if you attach a Sphere or Tm to a Higher difernt type (color) Pokemon and Devolve it, you keep the TM and can still use it correct?
master_trainer_mike says, "I guess technically you could attach a Mystery Plate to it."
master_trainer_mike says, "While it says instead of its normal attack, it could have a nirmal attack of nothing (like you can have a hand of nothing)."
master_trainer_mike says, "And yes the TM's or Plates would stay even if the color type changed. It on;ly checks when it is attached."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1634 from lizardotc:If you remove 2 dammage counters with Reto Engery do you devolve since it seems linked to each other.
master_trainer_mike says, "It is poorly worded isn't it."
master_trainer_mike says, "By the rules of English, the "may" covers both cases."
master_trainer_mike says, "Not sure what is intended."
master_trainer_mike says, "Since every other of the new special energies has an effect that you MUST do, I will say for tournemant puporses"
master_trainer_mike says, "that you MUST devolve the Pokemon it is attached to (if it is possible). The you may has to do with how much damage is removed (if any)."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1635 from lizardotc:Magbies Sputter will not shut off Machamp correct?
master_trainer_mike says, "Wrong, all Poke-POWERs and Poke-BODYs are considered Pokemon Powers."
master_trainer_mike says, "Any of the older effects that shut off Pokemon Powers (such as Sputter or Muk's Toxix Gas) shut of Poke-POWERs AND Poke-BODYs."
master_trainer_mike says, "In Japan they do not allow you to mix cards between sets, to avoind these rules issues."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1636 from lizardotc:If I have an Umberon active and a whole lot of Pokemon on my bench with the wording "Pokemon Powers" It only really hurts my oppenent and will not effect me right? ^_^
master_trainer_mike says, "Pokemon Powers (from the older stes) are not affected by Umbreon's Dark Gaze, only cards that have Poke-POWERs."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1637 from lizardotc:If I convert engery with Porygon2; say Fire into Fighting and attach a Sphere, can I then use the spheres attack (given that rulling that the engery you convert stays the same its just treated as that type...)
master_trainer_mike says, "It still only counts as a fire basic energy card (which is what the sphere asks for). Yes it is providing fire energy and counts as a fire energy card but NOT as a BASIC fire energy card."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1638 from lizardotc:On Mystery Zone; it seems like one could cheet because the game text involved.
master_trainer_mike says, "How so? If they take the basic energ card (they must show) and then do NOT have an evolution card to show and shuffle back then they have caplayed a card incorrectly and will get penalized properly."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1639 from pokesensei:I have an evolved Pokemon that attach Boost Energy to that is opposite a Lt. Dragonite.I KO the Lt. Dragonite this turn.Does the Boost Energy stay attached or get discarded?
master_trainer_mike says, "It gets discarded as the effect (discard at the end of the turn) takes place AFTER resolving combat (knocking out the Lt Dragonite)."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1640 from lizardotc:I make my pokemon colorless with that TM then use a self dammageing attack but have unown N out -30 done to self right?
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1641 from lizardotc:With Underground Expendition; do you grab the bottom cards without turning your deck over (so you couldnt see the 5th card)
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct"

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1642 from lizardotc:If you have the right type (color) engery on your pokemon for any of the sphers; do you do both effects or just one of em?
master_trainer_mike says, "If you have all 3 energy types attached (remember they have to basic energy cards) then you would do both additional effects."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1643 from lizardotc:If you have a star pice on your pokemon and do an attack that moves your pokemon to your bench (or you do that to your oppenent whatever) I would assume you get the pice's effect... right?
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct, it should say is on the Bench."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1644 from lizardotc:If I harvest bounty two Retro Engerys... I can remove 4 dammage counters and devolve twice...
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1645 from lizardotc:Can Underground fossle attack..? (Using a plate or sphere if you evolved it/devolved it)
master_trainer_mike says, "Do you mean Buried Fossil? Yes you could."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1646 from lizardotc:You can devolve the same turn you evolve... but you cant evolve the turn you devolve right...
master_trainer_mike says, "That is how I understand it, feel free to remind if I am I wrong."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1647 from professorcfk:usually, on booster packs, there is flavor text describing the set. how come this was absent on skyridge packs?
master_trainer_mike says, "Geez, I have no idea."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1648 from lizardotc:Having my Omnistar active I attach the Watter Sphere, the water Tm, and a mysterous plate or two or maybe more, I use harvest bountey to attach two Retro Engery to him, making him a Mysterous Fossle and then I pick and attack and attack you with mysterous fossle just because I can.
master_trainer_mike says, "You could yes."
master_trainer_mike says, "Not sure how long it would last though."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1649 from milord83:MTM thanks for the draft energy cards ^^ They arrived today here in Italy :)
master_trainer_mike says, "Excellent :)"

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1650 from lizardotc:If I have a Basic Pokemon that can evolve into a Dark Pokemon (Type or Name), can I attach a Starpiece to my basic that I placed a Dark Energy on first trun and evolve to the Stage at the End of My Opponent's turn then on my turn evolve to the Stage 2 Pokemon since the evolution to the stage 1 happened between turns?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you could."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1651 from lizardotc:If I attach a Boost Energy to Forretress (Dis) and Rapid spin to the bench and bring up Light Dragonite as my Active, does the boost stay on Forretress since Light Dragon is now My active Pokemon before the end of my turn?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes it would."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1652 from lizardotc:Do Effects from TMs effect Light Dragonite after a Successful Light Wave?
master_trainer_mike says, "No they do not. They are still effects from attacks that are prevented."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1653 from marril2000:Mike, I was wondering if the energy kits sent out are from back in the day, during the orignal league, or where they packaged in the trays recently?
master_trainer_mike says, "They are fomr quite some time ago I believe."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1654 from lizardotc:If I have a Charizard Active, can I attach Special Energy cards and then Energy Burn them to attack with Zard or does the energy Remain Colorless? I know that it was ruled that Tyranitar's Body still works, So I was wondering if Zards Power would do the same?
master_trainer_mike says, "The energy become fire from the Energy Burn, though their special effects still function."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1656 from m_p_douglas:Retro Energy -- a new complicated energy -- read the card -- yes, yes. Just once could we go over the card in general before it becomes a frequently asked question...actually the card is fairly simple. Don't play it on a nonevolved basic and hope to remove 2 damage counters.
master_trainer_mike says, "To be honest, I do not know if that would work or not and there isn't anyone around to ask."
master_trainer_mike says, "Actually you are correct."
master_trainer_mike says, "It would only be an colorless energy card if attached to a non-evolved Pokemon."
master_trainer_mike says, "Sorry (still have RISK on the brain)...."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1657 from lizardotc:Feint Attack: Does it go through Metal Energy effect if on Bench? Or is it only Houndours that goes through Metal if the targeted pokemon is on the Bench?
master_trainer_mike says, "Only the Aquapolis Houndour's Feint affects the bench."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1658 from steve_p:do older effects that target Pokemon Powers also effect both the new Poke-POWERs and Poke-BODYs?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes they do."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1659 from m_p_douglas:The newest guide to Cards that are legal in the modified format can be found in WotC Boards "Tournament and League Play" on page or search under "Prof. Douglas Zuver" if needed to find it. The last time it hit the archive it turned to alphabet soup :( Don't know why, my computer doesn't always behave...It used to never behave, so I guess that is an improvement?!?

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1660 from gym_leader_blaine:just thought I would let you know that FedEx delivered the extra energy cards yesturday, Thanks for sending them.
master_trainer_mike says, "Not a problem."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1662 from basictrainer007:If I had a light dragonite active and I play a retro energy on my evolved scizor on the bench. Does it do anything to scizor? And if yes, then what? My friend argues that the remove two damage counters is not an effect and the devolve is so dragonite
master_trainer_mike says, "Since they are "when you play this card from your hand" effects, they trigger before they are removed by the active Light Dragonite."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1663 from milord83:Mike, when will be the very last last day ffor making a sanctioned Pokémon tournament? we are organizing a TMP for Aug,31th..
master_trainer_mike says, "There will be an announcement about our end strategy soon."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1664 from lizardotc:RE: #1621 This is an important issue, because a certain deck would benefit greatly: If a Pokémon devolved w/ Undersea Ruins can NOT revolve in the same turn, exactly why is that (there is no text saying so...)
master_trainer_mike says, "You cannot evolve a Pokemon you devolved in a turn, though you can devolve a Pokemon yu evolved."
master_trainer_mike says, "I believe that is just the rules."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1665 from milord83:Where is the descriptive text on the back of the Skyridge boosters? What's this big logo with "Wizards of the coast" written on it? ;)
master_trainer_mike says, "Geez guys, I don;t work in production. I have no idea, sorry."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1667 from wizo_pokemom:all your sbz judges thank you for the skyridge addition to the card reference, mtm :-)
master_trainer_mike says, "No problem."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1668 from pokesensei:Another for the compendium...For Skyridge Kabutops,can you play a Basic to the bench?
master_trainer_mike says, "Nope, you cannot play any basic Pokemon or any evolution Pokemon cards when it is active."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1669 from chrisbo:Re Q1631 Sorry, "Porygone3" is a user name from the boards not a Pokemon card. But the question was good. If I Harvest Bounty two Retro Energies, can I remove 4 damage counters and devolve twice?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you can."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1670 from m_p_douglas:Some confusion on the Boards about Pokemon Power, Poke-Powers and Poke-Bodies. Poke-Powers and Poke-Bodies are sub categories of Pokemon Powers.
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1671 from lepi1962:Sorry I am late, so you probably already answered this question: when will be the last BZ? Is it posible to have one WOTC created Jamboree card for your last BZ promo so that we have a glimpse of what could have happened?
master_trainer_mike says, "We will announce our end plans soon. Sorry, but we are not allowed to release anything from Jamboree."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1672 from m_p_douglas:The deck building area of the boards is really hopping :) :) :) lots of new decks and ideas :) :) :) The mighty Weedle is ,of course, getting its fair share of attention...
master_trainer_mike says, "BOOYAH!!!"

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1673 from basictrainer007:Lets say you have a stage one pokemon active, and you use harvet bounties venusaur to attach two retro energy, the first one devolves into the basic but what happens to the second one? It says it can only be attached to an evolution pokemon. So do you
master_trainer_mike says, "Gads, this one is giving me a headache."
master_trainer_mike says, "You are checking to see if it is being attached to an evolved Pokemon when you bring them from your hand. Harvet Bounty has you bring two out at the same time."
master_trainer_mike says, "Their effects stack up abnd are resolevd one at a time."
master_trainer_mike says, "The first one lets you take off 2 damage and you must devolve it."
master_trainer_mike says, "The second one (which was going to be attached to an evolved Pokemon - remember it is when you play the card, not when it resolves)"
master_trainer_mike says, "allows you to remove 2 damage, and then tries to devolve the Pokemon, which can't."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1674 from lizardotc:If I use Harvest Bounty to attach 2 Retro Energies to my Kingdra with 8 damage counters, does the Seadra (60 HP) stage get knocked out, or does it make it to the Horsea stage (50HP)?
master_trainer_mike says, "AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH"
master_trainer_mike says, "how about we just BAN Retro Energy!?!?!?!?!?!"
master_trainer_mike says, ""
master_trainer_mike says, "You must resolve each card one at a time."
master_trainer_mike says, "So it would be Knocked out after the first one resolves."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1675 from lepi1962:In SBZ can I have a japanese card in my deck without an english card for translation outside the deck?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you can, but it would be more polite to not do so if you could help it."
master_trainer_mike says, "Not everyonbe has every card memorized."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1676 from marril2000:Any chance for the return of the lovable green star stamper, i know there must be some sitting somewhere ;)
master_trainer_mike says, "I will now delete all green stamper questions from now on."
master_trainer_mike says, "Staring...now."
master_trainer_mike smirks.

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1677 from lizardotc:Re: #1654 Does Charizard's Energy Burn allow it to change special energies to Fire against an opposing Light Dragonite?
master_trainer_mike says, "This is the same question that has come up before about personal effects vs. global ones."
master_trainer_mike says, "They would be fire, right?"

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1679 from lizardotc:And do the Energy Burned energies still retain their special effectsagainst Light Dragonite, or not?
master_trainer_mike says, "They do not."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1680 from steve_p:For the E-cards that target only Poke-POWERS, do they also target Pokemon Powers? What about E-cards that target only Poke-BODYs? Do they also target the older Pokemon Powers?
master_trainer_mike says, "No they do not. As previously stated, anything that effects Pokemon Powers affects both Poke-POWERs and Poke-BODYs (like Sputter)."
master_trainer_mike says, "It does NOT work in reverse."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1681 from basictrainer007:So if either player has a kabutops out, neither can lay a basic or evolution pokemon to their bench?
master_trainer_mike says, "Correct."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1682 from drpoke:can you use pokemon breeder on buried fossil?
master_trainer_mike says, "Yes you could."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1683 from basictrainer007:If I am using a ditto and it is coping a evoled pokemon, can I play a retro on it? If yes, what will happen?
master_trainer_mike says, "You would remove 2 damage from it and that's all."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1684 from farbsman:Any chance of putting a poster in the leagues with pictures of what Jamboree looked like/?
master_trainer_mike says, "Nope, we are not allowed to show anything form Jamboree."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1685 from m_p_douglas:Re 1654, 1677 -- Yes Fire is correct....... Light Dragonite vs. Charizard Base..Charizard base has 4 speacial energies on it. Light Dragonite's Miraculous Wave Pokemon Power turns them all to Neutral. Then Charizard uses its pokemon power to turn it to fire and attack. The ruling a while back was the individual Pokemon Powes take precidence (is more important) than area effect Pokemon Powers. Otherwise, normally in other situaltions you revert to Active resolved first then Defender resolved second.
master_trainer_mike says, "Thank you."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1686 from milord83:about judging:a Judge has written a wrong result on the entry slip.This result was registered by the scorekeeper,who was informed on time about the error. He waited the decision of the TO,but he printed out the standings before the answer.Who's wrong?
master_trainer_mike says, "Did the players sign off on the entry slip?"
master_trainer_mike says, "If the players and judge signed off on the slip and it was handed in, then that is the game reality."

master_trainer_mike presents the speaker with question #1687 from m_p_douglas:Thanks for doing "overtime" on The Chat today. We appreciate you :)
master_trainer_mike says, "Not a problem."
master_trainer_mike says, "If no slips are used, then the result should be fixed and the pairings reprinted."
master_trainer_mike says, "Ok, now I need to go."
master_trainer_mike says, "Sorry I was late, a very busy day here."
master_trainer_mike says, "Good luck to all of you at the SBZ's this weekend and have a happy Memorial Weekend to you all!"
master_trainer_mike says, "See you next week :)"