Author Archive

Team Compendium at US Nationals 2014

Sunday, July 27th, 2014

Team Compendium has updated the Compendium site’s ‘for Judges’ page with references covered at the U.S. Nationals Judge Seminar. Check out the updates.

Greetings from Team Compendium at 2014 US National Championships!

Greetings from Team Compendium at 2014 US National Championships!

Compendium BW – German!

Thursday, February 16th, 2012

Team Compendium is very proud to announce our first official translation!

http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-bw.de.html

Thanks to the stupendous translation work of PokeGym member and German Nationals & Worlds Judge, Glumanda, we now have a translation of our Compendium BW edition for use by German speaking players and judges. Many thanks to Glumanda for the hours of time and care (and brainstorming formats, etc. with TC) to make this happen.

Here is how the ongoing translation process will work:

  1. TC publishes the rulings in the Compendium Updates forum on the PokeGym.
  2. Glumanda translates these and enters them in the Compendium BW German database.
  3. He then previews the finished Compendium BW document and publishes it.

All additions and updates for the Compendium BW are tracked in the Compendium Updates logs. So, there may be a little lag between the English BW and publishing the German translation.

Team Compendium says thanks again to Glumanda and hello to our German-speaking Pokémon-Sammelkartenspiel Regelkompendium Schwarz und Weiß readers, old and new!

Compendium BW

Thursday, November 3rd, 2011

Team Compendium is pleased to announce the latest editions of The Pokemon Trading Card Game Rulings Compendium, The Compendium BW. The features of the Compendium BW include:

  • Streamlined rulings, pre-HGSS rulings removed, except those that are still relevant
  • Updated existing rulings, applied to Abilities & Trainers as appropriate [with edited text in brackets]
  • Updated links, to card scans from the PokeGym Researching Tower
  • Comprehensive index, so you can jump right to or bookmark a specific ruling

Check it all out at

http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-bw.html

Did I say, editions, plural? Yes! There is now a mobile edition of the Compendium BW at

http://compendium.pokegym.net/cpdmbw.html

This mobile edition is designed to work with your iOS & Android mobile phones (and maybe some others!). Right now, it requires an Internet connection to use on your mobile device.

And if you read between the lines here or read the introduction carefully, you’ll know there are a couple more editions in the works.

Please give us your feedback, corrections and considered suggestions in this article’s thread on the PokeGym. If the mobile edition works (or doesn’t work) on your phone, we’d like to know the model of phone and version of its operating system.

Thank you, loyal Compendium readers, for how much you care about good rulings! These editions are for you.

 

You can take notes on Time Walk

Saturday, December 18th, 2010

The Tournament Rules on taking notes changed for this season. They are quoted below from section 7 of the Play! Pokemon Tournament Rules.

Players are allowed to take notes during a game in respect to actions that have happened during the game. Players may take notes during a match and refer to those notes. Players may choose not to share these notes with other players, but a judge may ask to see a player’s notes and request an explanation if needed. A player’s note sheet must be blank at the start of each match. Players must be timely with their note taking and may not use devices that may send or receive messages as a note-taking device. A player may not refer to notes taken during previous rounds while the tournament is still in progress. Notes taken during a match may not be given to other players during the course of the tournament.
Because a judge may ask to see a player’s notes while a match is in progress, the use of codes, ciphers, abbreviations, or any other method of obscuring the meaning of the information is not permitted. Additionally, notes taken by a player may not contain misinformation, intended to deceive tournament staff.

We’ve removed the old rulings on note taking from the Compendium until we can replace them. One big difference is that the qualification for note taking no longer exclude taking notes on your prizes, such as may be revealed by Time Walk.

Happy time travel.

‘snore

For Team Compendium

For CC 2010 Playtesters – Insight, Space Virus and Legend Box.

Saturday, November 20th, 2010

We have a few batches of questions where not all the questions have been answered. Mixed in among those batches are some answered questions relevant to Cities, that we’d like to publish here so that they get out there in time. Here they are in no particular order:

Q. When Yanmega tries to attack, do you evaluate the number of cards in your hand for the “Insight” Poke-BODY before or after discarding a card for Giratina Lv.X’s “Invisible Tentacles” Poke-BODY?
A. The Insight Poke-BODY is evaluated before your attack even begins; therefore it is checked before discarding any cards for Invisible Tentacles. (Nov 11, 2010 PUI Rules Team)
Q. If Deoxys & Rayquaza LEGEND knocks out a Dialga [G] Lv.X with the “Time Crystal” Poke-BODY, does Deoxys & Rayquaza LEGEND’s “Space Virus” Poke-BODY turn on in time for it to take two prizes?
A. When Dialga [G] Lv.X is KO’d and discarded, the Space Virus Poke-BODY turns back on and allows the player to take 1 more prize card. (Sep 23, 2010 PUI Rules Team)
Q. On the part of Legend Box where it talks about “you can play only 1 Pokemon LEGEND in this way”, is that just for the play of the card, or for the entire game?
A. It only lasts for as long as the Trainer is being used.  It just means that if you reveal two or more complete Pokemon LEGENDs that you can only put one of them onto your bench for that trainer card played. (Sep 23, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

For Battle Road Playtesters – Red Armor & Defender

Tuesday, September 14th, 2010

Here are some official rulings from TPCi Rules Team that we’d like to get out to all you Battle Road playtesters this week.

Q. If Garchomp [C] Lv.X has Special Energy cards attached and discards all of them when using its “Dragon Rush” attack, can it do damage to a Scizor that has the “Red Armor” Poke-BODY?
A. No. First choose which two energies to discard, then do the damage (before any other effects), then you actually discard the energy at the end of the attack. So it will still be attached at the point when damage would be done, but the damage will be blocked. (Aug 19, 2010 PUI Rules Team; Sep 2, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

Red Armor is also in effect against other attacks, besides Dragon Rush, that would discard all special energy as part of the attack.


Q. If I attach Defender to Drifblim and do “Balloon Tackle”, does Defender prevent the 20 self damage from that attack?
A. Yes. Play Defender as if the damage prevention wording was printed, “Any damage done by attacks to the Pokémon Defender is attached to is reduced by 20 (after applying Weakness and Resistance).” (Aug 19, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

Defender from Undaunted appears to have been printed incorrectly; play it as per the ruling. Base Set Defender is legal for Battle Road without any reference.

Updated rulings on GUARD, Looker’s Investigation, Conductivity

Sunday, August 8th, 2010

We wanted to provide a further heads-up on the new way to play bench swap attacks versus a protected active (and also, fyi Conductivity, confirmation on Looker). These rulings will be in effect for the World Championships 2010.

The wording is not official yet, but we’ve been asked to get the word out. Here’s the summary

  1. For Looker’s Investigation, declare the number of cards you will draw before you start drawing; if you don’t declare, you will draw the maximum.
  2. An active protected by Guard or Anticipation can be switched by an attack that targets an unprotected benched Pokemon (see below).
  3. There is a return to the “simultaneous-trigger for different effects allows the controlling player to choose the order in which the effects are applied” meta-ruling and this affects Conductivity (see below).

———————————————————————-
POKEMON POWERS (P) AND ATTACKS (A)
———————————————————————-

P== ANTICIPATION (Toxicroak [G] – PL:Platinum)
P== GUARD (Unown G – DP:Great Encounters)
A== INVITING TRAP (Trapinch – DP:Secret Wonders)
A== LURING FLAME (Blaziken [FB] – PL:Supreme Victors)

Q. If my opponent has a Toxicroak [G] with the “Anticipation” Poke-BODY or a Pokemon with Unown-G attached as a tool with its “GUARD” Poke-Power active, can I use my Trapinch’s “Inviting Trap” attack or Blaziken [FB]‘s “Luring Flame” attack and choose to switch the Defending Pokemon with one of their benched Pokemon?
A. Yes, it can. The intended wording of Trapinch’s Inviting Trap and Blaziken [FB]‘s Luring Flame place an effect on the Benched Pokemon, so even if the Defending Pokemon has a condition that prevent effects of attacks the switch can still occur. (Aug 5, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

Q. If my opponent has a Toxicroak [G] with the “Anticipation” Poke-BODY on their bench, or a Pokemon with Unown-G attached as a tool with its “GUARD” Poke-Power on their bench, can I use my Trapinch’s “Inviting Trap” attack or Blaziken [FB]‘s “Luring Flame” attack and choose to switch the Defending Pokemon with one of those on the bench?
A. No, you cannot.  The intended wording of Trapinch’s Inviting Trap and Blaziken [FB]‘s Luring Flame place an effect on the Benched Pokemon, so if the Benched Pokemon has a condition that prevents effects of attacks excluding damage done, the switch cannot occur.  (Aug 5, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

P== CONDUCTIVITY (Dark Ampharos – Neo:Destiny; Ampharos EX – EX:Dragon; Ampharos – HS:Heart Gold/Soul Silver)
P== AQUA REACTION (Helix Fossil – DP:Majestic Dawn; Helix Fossil – PL:Arceus)
P== ROCK REACTION (Dome Fossil – DP:Majestic Dawn; Dome Fossil – PL:Arceus)

Q. What happens if Ampharos with the “Conductivity” Poke-BODY is in play and I attach the appropriate energy card to my Dome Fossil or Helix Fossil to activate their “Rock Reaction” or “Aqua Reaction” Poke-BODY?
A. Attaching an Energy card to Dome Fossil or Helix Fossil causes its Poke-BODY and Ampharos’ Conductivity to trigger at the same time, so the player can resolve them in the order of their choosing.  If you resolve Conductivity first, the Fossil Pokemon takes a damage counter and then evolves.  However, if you resolve Rock Reaction or Aqua Reaction first, the Fossil’s Poke-BODY searches for a card and evolves, but Conductivity no longer sees the Pokemon that triggered it, so no damage counter is placed. (Aug 5, 2010 PUI Rules Team)

***** OLD CONDUCTIVITY RULINGS THAT NOW APPLY ONCE AGAIN: *****
Q. Would Flygon’s “Energy Shower” attack set off Ampharos-EX’s “Conductivity” power? Like if I set down 6 energy, it would do 60 Damage (however I set down the energy)? And if yes, would the damage be done to Flygon or to each separate Pokemon. that I attach an energy to?
A. Yes, Flygon would indeed trigger Ampharos-EX’s Conductivity; it also works the same way for Azumarill’s “Drizzle” attack. And the damage would be done to each individual Pokemon that gets an energy attached to it. (Jan 29, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

***** OLD CONDUCTIVITY RULINGS THAT NOW APPLY ONCE AGAIN: *****
Q. If I have Quagsire and my opponent has Ampharos-EX in play and I attach an energy card to my Quagsire from my hand, which Poke-POWER gets applied first, Saturation or Conductivity?
A. Conductivity and Saturation happen at the same time, so the player attaching energy would get to decide which effect to apply first. (Mar 3, 2005 PUI Rules Team)

PokeGym down, Compendium Up

Sunday, May 9th, 2010

During the PokeGym outage (there is an upgrade in progress), all the rulings are still available from the Compendium site (links at left) and the Compendium site will be up. You can follow the progress of the upgrade on the PokeGym Facebook page and also in the comments to this post.

Errata for two cards from Unleashed along with Lucky Egg

Sunday, May 9th, 2010

Three cards have been added to the list of errata for the Pokémon Trading Card Game.

Please note the three cards are receiving errata to address text changes. The text below reflects what the card should say, not what was originally printed. Additionally, we have added notes to help understand what has changed on the cards. You can see a complete list of TCG Errata on the rules and resources page.

Lucky Egg (Platinum—Arceus, 88/89)
When the Pokémon this card is attached to is Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s attack and put into your discard pile, draw cards until you have 7 cards in your hand.

If the Pokémon does not go to the discard pile (for example, if it goes to the Lost Zone, etc.), you do not get to draw the cards.

Onix (HS—Unleashed, 56/95)
(Poké-Body) Energy Healer
When you attach an Energy card from your hand to Onix, remove a damage counter from Onix.

This Poké-Body only works when you attach an Energy card to Onix.

PlusPower (HS—Unleashed, 80/95)
If the Pokémon PlusPower is attached to attacks, the attack does 10 more damage to the Active Pokémon (before applying Weakness and Resistance).

This is to match past versions of the card. Also, if the Pokémon uses an attack that would damage itself, PlusPower would also affect that damage.

Image links in Compendium LvX Updated

Saturday, January 16th, 2010

With many thanks to our friend Dave Christian (PokeGym Member – The Gorn) at pokepedia.net, we’ve finally used the file he gave us last summer and updated the database that creates the links from the Compendium rulings to the Researching Tower images.

The result is a more complete reference when you want to look at a card for which a ruling is published in the Compendium. Thanks to Dave’s data we are up-to-date through Rising Rivals and OP9 sets.

We realize there are some gaps where there is no link to the Tower image for a card ruling. This occurs where images aren’t consistently labeled as to set (e.g. Trainer Kit Gold) or TPCi has chosen card numbers that don’t fit into our current algorithms (the Shiny Duskull for example). Also, there are one or two links that actually don’t match the ruling, where the name of the attack is the same but the attack is completely different or the name is a subset of another name.

We’re hoping to close these small gaps sometime in the future… after we update through HeartGold SoulSilver. For now, though, we’re happy to have the addtional links!